K-Tec

First webcam image

More
18 years 8 months ago #21991 by Neill
First webcam image was created by Neill
Hi guys,

Took the below shot on Sat night. Its my first attempt at a webcam image. I would appreciate your feedback so I could get better at it.

Details

Date taken - Sat 14/1/06
Meade ETX 70
Phillips Toucam Pro II
310 frames stacked in registax v3
Some basic darkening processing in Phillips vLounge Arcsoft Photobase

Neill

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 years 8 months ago #22001 by Seanie_Morris
Replied by Seanie_Morris on topic Re: First webcam image
Super first attempt Neil, well done! :shock:

Obviously, focus seems to be the only issue of major concern. How did you mount the webcam? Was it the conventional sense, or did you actually remove the outer lens housing and use the scope as the lens? If it is the latter, then I think you just need to mess around with the scopes own focusing knob to get it right.

But, as you used Registax, the out of focus could also be due to too many frames being used. Windy conditions and/or an unsteady mount will cause the Moon to shudder from frame to frame, thus when all of the frames are stacked, the end image will appear slightly blurred. Try using less frames, and increase the exposre time of each frame i.e. less frames per second.

As I am like you, only experimenting at the moment, I am sure the more experienced camera observers will give you further, better advice! :D

Seanie.

Midlands Astronomy Club.
Radio Presenter (Midlands 103), Space Enthusiast, Astronomy Outreach Co-ordinator.
Former IFAS Chairperson and Secretary.

More
18 years 8 months ago #22003 by Neill
Replied by Neill on topic Webcam image
Hi Seanie,