K-Tec

Help needed...New User

More
19 years 5 months ago #10525 by BusyIzzy
Help needed...New User was created by BusyIzzy
:x
Hubby bought me Altas Explorer ....70mm 900mm I hope that makes sense to somebody out there!!!with 3 thingymajigs 4mm, 12.5mm& 20mm
Haven't the foggiest how it works :P :x :D
Absolutley love the night sky hence the pressie, but all this techno jarg getting me know where!!
Not Blonde!!.. but know how they feel!!
Sorry for being pain in bum,
Love the web site spend most of the day nipping in and out when supposed to be working
Thanx in advance
BusyIzzy

Rosie

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 years 5 months ago #10526 by Bill_H
Replied by Bill_H on topic Re: Help needed...New User
Hi Rosy,
Welcome to the boards. I'm just a beginner as well, got my first scope in mid-December, but have learned a lot by pestering everyone here with my mad questions. Any problems, post it here and there will be plenty response. Then of course, there is Cosmos next week. A chance to bleed them all dry of info in person :lol: and put faces to names.
Welcome.
Bill H.

Astronomers do it with the lights off.

More
19 years 5 months ago #10529 by voyager
Replied by voyager on topic Re: Help needed...New User
Welcome aboard!

Remember, there is no such thing as a stupid question so ask away!

To get the ball rolling, the "thingymajigs" are eye pieces, the difference between them is the magnification they will give you. The bigger the number the lower the magnification, the smaller the higher! One thing to bear in mind is that more magnification is often a BAD thing, it reduces the area yo uare looking at and reducesthe clarity and brightness of your image. Always start at the lowest magnification (eye piece with the biggest number) and then depending on how big and bright the target object is you can consider trying a higher magnification.

Bart.

My Home Page - www.bartbusschots.ie

More
19 years 5 months ago #10531 by albertw