K-Tec

What does it look like?

• Macros42
  • Topic Author
More
19 years 4 months ago #12100 by Macros42
What does it look like? was created by Macros42
I was trying to find M57 on Saturday night. The seeing wasn't the best but the observing challenge handbook did say any sky ;) I failed miserably however due to my lack of ... well ... brains :D

Now I am a complete newbie so this may seem like a bit of a daft question. The first image below is Lyra as seen with the naked eye.

So what should it look like through a telescope? It is mirrored and flipped? Just mirrored or flipped? I found it hard enough to try and ignore the extra stars I could see through the scope without knowing what exactly it was I was looking for :D. Here's three option .. which one is right?

Thanks guys.

Steve
--
"Common sense is the collection of prejudices acquired by age eighteen" -- Albert Einstein

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• DaveGrennan
  • IFAS Astronomer of the Year 2010
  • IFAS Astronomer of the Year 2010
More
19 years 4 months ago #12113 by DaveGrennan
Replied by DaveGrennan on topic Re: What does it look like?
Steve,

Depends on what scope you have? Also remember you are never going to see the entire constellation of lyra through your scope but only a tiny part of it. If you mean through your finderscope it again depends on whether it is a 'straight through' finder or has a diaganol mirror inside it.

The best way is to test your setup yourself. Thereis an easy way to do this; find a bright star in your finder (or scope if thats what you are testing), now move the scope a little left and see which way the star moves in the scope/finder. If it moves right the the setup is mirrored. If if moves left too then its not mirrored. If the setup is mirrored horizontally then it is mirrored vertically too.

Heres how I find stuff using a celestron 98x50 finder.