Are saturns rings visiblein a 76mm newtonian reflector

• ftodonoghue
  • Topic Author
  • Red Giant
  • Red Giant
More
18 years 7 months ago #23061 by ftodonoghue
Hi guys

Just received a call from a beginning observer here in Kerry. He purchased a 76mm newtonian from the local camera shop. An atlas discovery I think is the name. He was wondering why he could not see the rings of saturn..

If this scope is collimated properly and a decent eyepiece is used, will the rings be visible???I have no experience in an instrument like this.

Cheers
Trevor

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 years 7 months ago #23062 by martinastro
Yes they should be visible for sure allowing for ok seeing conditons of course.

Martin Mc Kenna

coruscations attending the whole length of the luminosity, giving to the phenomena the aspect of a wrathful messenger, and not that of a tranquil body pursuing a harmless course..comet of 1680

More
18 years 7 months ago #23063 by Skylord

Just received a call from a beginning observer here in Kerry. He purchased a 76mm newtonian from the local camera shop. An atlas discovery I think is the name. He was wondering why he could not see the rings of saturn..If this scope is collimated properly and a decent eyepiece is used, will the rings be visible???I have no experience in an instrument like this.

Perhaps. I recall having difficulty with a 72mm Tasco ages ago and Atlas telescopes fall into the same category as Tasco. The 76mm model has a spherical mirror of dubious quality and with the usual Huygens and Ramsden eyepieces supplied, resolving Saturn's rings adequately may prove difficult. Although a 76mm scope is theoretically capable of 150x, he may find images from this mirror breaking down at 100x or therereabouts, even with a decent eyepiece. So, should he be able to resolve Saturn's rings with a 76mm reflector? The answer is yes but whether he will with this Atlas scope is a moot point.