• Rayman
  • Topic Author
  • Proto Star
  • Proto Star
More
17 years 8 months ago #39353 by Rayman
eyepieces Help? was created by Rayman
Hi All,
I have a question for you... I am new to astronomy and My question is this: Am I missing some eyepieces or even something else, like filters? I have a C8N 1000mm F5 Reflector which came with a 20mm plossel, I also purchased a 12mm plossel and a X2 Barlow. At the moment I am just exploring the sky, for Nebula and star clusters the 20mm seems best, for Saturn, the 12mm & X2 Barlow is great, but I am wondering if I can push it a bit more.
BTW, The 12mm has a 50 degree apparent field of view, should I get one with a wider field of view?
Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 years 8 months ago #39355 by voyager
Replied by voyager on topic Re: eyepieces Help?
TBH it sounds like you're on to a winner there. Personally I love getting really wide fields so I'd be lost without my 40mm but I may just be a bit odd :)

Bart.

My Home Page - www.bartbusschots.ie

More
17 years 8 months ago #39356 by bertthebudgie
Replied by bertthebudgie on topic Re: eyepieces Help?
Rayman

The maximum magnification would be 50 times the aperture ie 400 power.

Your highest mag. with your 12 mm is 1000/12= 83x. With a barlow that gives a top mag 166x so there is scope for you to get a higher power eyepiece. If you get something like a 6m then you will get 1000/6=166x and with a barlow you will be able to get the to 333 which is quite close to the maximum.

Generally only on extreemly good nights would you be able to see to your top mag. anyway so you wont be loosing out too much. You could also get a 4m wich will give you 250x but you will not be able to use the barlow on this as the image will appear to faint and fuzzy to be viewable.