• dolalu
  • Topic Author
  • Proto Star
  • Proto Star
More
16 years 8 months ago #59073 by dolalu
'Shed' observatories was created by dolalu
Hi guys,
As a newbie to the world of astronomy im constantly on the look out for new toys to make my hobbie all the more enjoyable.

Im getting a bit tired of lugging my scope outside, waiting for it to cool and then bringing it back in as it rains or gale force winds appear.

I then thought of a permanent base outside, a sort of secure shed observatory. i have had a look at a few different ones on the internet and they seem to be ok. (if a little ugly and bulky)

i am in the fortunate position that i work as a buyer and i can get one of my vendors to make one bespoke for me. That got me wondering if there was a market for this type of unit out there?
Does anyone have one or does anyone want one, just trying to gauge interest as i might be able to bring a quality, value observatory.
If you were to have one, what features does it need? How much would you pay for one? wood/Plastic/Metal??

i am not trying to peddle my wares, (which is why i have purposly not named any details about who i work for etc.)if no-one has an interest then i will leave it be, but its a shame if i can help make others enjoy the clear skys as much as they can.
Cheers
dolau

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 years 8 months ago #59080 by pj30something
Replied by pj30something on topic Re: 'Shed' observatories
Hi dolau

Many people here i feel would love a "shed" Observatory..........myself included. I have looked into many different ones. Would love to hear more about what you do,costs etc.

You are in the right place so posting details would be most welcomed.

Maybe if you posted in the "Equipment" section it would benefit everyone more.

Paul C
My next scope is going to be a Vixen VMC200L Catadioptric OTA

• DaveGrennan
  • IFAS Astronomer of the Year 2010
  • IFAS Astronomer of the Year 2010
More