Quantum Leap - thoughts...

• dmcdona
  • Topic Author
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
More
17 years 5 months ago #43226 by dmcdona
Quantum Leap - thoughts... was created by dmcdona
Folks - I'll be recording a spot for the Quantum Leap (RTE Radio 1) next Wednesday for broadcast on the following Thursday (29th March 8pm).

There are two topics:

1. What's up in the night sky over the next week or two (ie from Thurs 29th to mid April). Let me know your top three targets.

2. What would a total newbie to astronomy do to get into it? Tell me how *you* got into astronomy and what were the biggest problems and how did you solve them.

Fire away!

Cheers

Dave

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 years 5 months ago #43229 by ftodonoghue
Replied by ftodonoghue on topic Re: Quantum Leap - thoughts...
Hi Dave

1.With Venus high and bright in the sky, this is definitely one you should cover, no doubt people all over Ireland are wondering what is the bright star high in the west.

2.ISS is back in the evening skies from the 10th April for two weeks. times on kerry astronomyclub.com. It might be no harm if we could get a link to the times on heavens-above on the homepage here . Dont know how people feel about that?

3.anyone with a small scope should check out saturn. You should be able to see the rings with a 60mm scope, maybe even a 50mm

Getting into astronomy,
like most, it happened when I was much younger. Biggest problem was lack of info. try and see if there is a local club nearby. They will be eager to help.

Grab a pair of binoculars and start exploring.

Start looking at the moon. This will spark any budding astronomers interest.

visit irishastronomy.org and download beginners handbook and get a simple guidebook / planisphere. There should be ones in most bookstores.

Start learning the constellations.

Cheers
Trevor

More
17 years 5 months ago #43236 by Seanie_Morris