K-Tec

Starting out :)

• Macros42
  • Topic Author
More
19 years 5 months ago #11077 by Macros42
Starting out :) was created by Macros42
Thanks to all who gave me advice on buying my first scope. I've received my Skywatcher 200 from Andy McCrea. Set it up on Thursday night and last night balanced it. Then decided to have a look through it in the back garden as a trial run. Fair bit of light polution in Maynooth but I couldn't wait to give it a bash :D

The EQ5 may require a physics degree to work out but through dead reckoning I managed to get Jupiter in the FOV. With the 10mm eyepiece I could make out the two brown rings on the planet and four of the moons. As a complete beginner to this I was delighted with that. Best part was when a plane passed through the fov :o - looked like a shooting star.

Now to read the instructions on how to use the EQ5 mount properly and hopefully get some cloud free nights to have a good look around. Of course that'll require me to learn where things are in the sky as well - but that's part of the fun isn't it? After all I was told not to get a goto because I'd learn shag all! :wink:

Steve

Steve
--
"Common sense is the collection of prejudices acquired by age eighteen" -- Albert Einstein

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• DaveGrennan
  • IFAS Astronomer of the Year 2010
  • IFAS Astronomer of the Year 2010
More
19 years 5 months ago #11078 by DaveGrennan
Replied by DaveGrennan on topic Re: Starting out :)
Welcome to the world of scope owners Steve:)

After a little while you'll get so used to pointing the scope it will become second nature. My suggestion to you is go get a decent star atlas and just go looking. Heres a little challenge. What's the furthest object you can find in your scope. Thats what I did when I got my first real scope and I was amazed at the result.

Lets hope for lots of clear skies

Regards and Clear Skies,

Dave.
J41 - Raheny Observatory.
www.webtreatz.com
Equipment List here