K-Tec

Beginner problems with Moon shot

More
18 years 8 months ago #21785 by blooka
Beginner problems with Moon shot was created by blooka
Hi
after seeing all these great pictures of the moon on this forum I thought i would give it a go myself. I am new to astronomy since the wife bought me a telescope at xmas so please be patient with me.
I have a skylux telescope from lidl and a 3com homeconnect webcam with a UWAL-F adaptor which I bought from webcaddy.com. I connect the camera to the adaptor and then place camera into the diagonal.Problem is I would like to photograph all of the moon but i can only see part of it, as it zooms in too much.Do I need some sort of other adaptor to fit the 20mm eyepiece in also?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated, its the first decent night I have had of the moon for ages so i am desperate for my fist picture

Many Thanx in Advance
Dave (the noob)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 years 8 months ago #21792 by Seanie_Morris
Replied by Seanie_Morris on topic Re: Beginner problems with Moon shot
I'd say you just need a larger eyepiece, say, a 30 to 35mm to get the whole Moon without any hindrance.

Midlands Astronomy Club.
Radio Presenter (Midlands 103), Space Enthusiast, Astronomy Outreach Co-ordinator.
Former IFAS Chairperson and Secretary.

More
18 years 8 months ago #21796 by dave_lillis
Replied by dave_lillis on topic Re: Beginner problems with Moon shot
If you have a camera be it SLR or compact, give that a try instead, it might work abit better, but like seanie said, maybe try using a longer FL lens.

Dave L. on facebook , See my images in flickr
Chairman. Shannonside Astronomy Club (Limerick)

Carrying around my 20" obsession is going to kill me,
but what a way to go. :)
+ 12"LX200, MK67, Meade2045, 4"refractor

More
18 years 8 months ago #21798 by blooka
Replied by blooka on topic re: moon shot
thanx fo the advice guys i will try it with my digital camera.